I'm getting nervous (applying in a few months)

After a 3.1 in undergrad I moved on to getting a 3.4 post bacc from Northwestern/Harvard. I recently got a very bad grade while studying for the MCAT that brought my post bacc from a 3.55 to a 3.4 and I’m freaking out about it a bit.

I’m taking the MCAT at the end of April. I’ve taken 3 full lengths and my most recent one was a 35 (I’ve done a ridiculous amount of sectional tests, probably 10 in each subject and 25 in verbal…which helped a TON btw). I’m wondering what MCAT I need for both DO and MD schools.

I have top notch letters of recommendation and really good but not mind blowing ECs. I have a great story and am one of the more non-traditional non traditionals. If interviewed I think there is little doubt the adcoms will see I want to work as a physician for the right reasons and that I really want it.

I’m an IL resident and not an URM. With the exception of the poor grade I’ve gotten while studying for the MCAT I’ve worked my @ss off to get the post bacc GPA I have.

That one bad grade has been running loops in my mind the past few weeks. Any information is appreciated.

FWIW, in my experience getting anything above a D+ at Northwestern is tougher than getting an A at community college. I don’t understand why a med school would punish a 3.4 there vs a 4.0 at CC but I am wondering if I should be regretting my decision. Does anyone have any insight on the workings of the MCAT/GPA grid system and how it may affect me?

…SNAP OUT IT!!!

• HeyEveryone Said:
FWIW, in my experience getting anything above a D+ at Northwestern is tougher than getting an A at community college. I don't understand why a med school would punish a 3.4 there vs a 4.0 at CC

Unfortunately the reality for students applying to medical school isn't to understand why certain standards, perceptions, attitudes, etc exist in requirements; it is to fulfill them as best as possible.

• HeyEveryone Said: