In need of encouragement

Hello everybody,

I’ve been reading posts for months now and almost feel like I know many of you. I’ve always meant to write myself but never knew where to start. Sorry for the lengthy post that follows but here goes…

Like many of the stories I’ve read here, I was an unfocused pre-med undergrad. I graduated in 1993 with a 3.25, and a 3.0 BCPM. I knew I didn’t have the grades to apply to medical school so I went to work at a city hospital doing research on access to care among HIV patients. In 1997, I went back to school and did very well in a Master’s In Public Health Program (3.96) and applied to medical school. At the time I didn’t realize that none of my public health classes would contribute to raising my low BCPM. When I didn’t get in, I resigned myself to the fact that medicine wouldn’t be for me. I went on to have a fulfilling Public Health career working on projects in HIV prevention in minority communities, immigrant health issues and access to care among vulnerable populations.