In the meantime

So I don’t think i’ll be able to start med school for about 4 years, due to the prereqs and mcat everything. I work in a bank, and as i’ve posted elsewhere, I really hate it. For that reason and because I think it would be good to get some clinical/healthcare experience, I’m kind of looking at allied health programs to see if there is something I could get through kind of quickly, which would be interesting and pay a decent wage.
I don’t want to go through nursing school, though I thought about that a lot. It seems like if I want to be a doctor than it would be somewhat disingenuous to go to nursing school. However, something like an ER tech, or an ultrasound tech seems like more of a means to an end. Respiratory therapy seems interesting and useful, and I’m really interested in Electroneurodiagnostic Technician, which I just found out about. I like neurology a lot so this might be a good fit.
So, all of you OPMers, what are your opinions of the various allied health fields? the programs would all cost me a decent chunk of money, but I think it might be worth it. 4 years is a long time to stay at a job I dislike, even with the medschool light at the end of the tunnel… and I’ve already worked there for 3.
Any thoughts?

Here’s my .02,
A job as an ER tech, Respiratory Therapist (RT), Phletbotomist, and Lab all require certifications. You can get an EMT certification and work as an ER tech. Some ERs stipulate that you are a paramedic. In order to work as a phlebotomist, you need a certificate from an accredited school. In order to work in a lab, you need to be ASCP certified. Our beloved leader-OMD-was an RT; so, he tell you more about RT certification.
Just my .02