Intro and Post-Bacc question

Hello everyone. I was excited to stumble across this site. Thanks to the admins for creating it.

My name is Eric and, like many of you, I have no background in medicine, but I intend to be a doctor. Currently, I am 30 years old, have a bachelor’s degree in international business and have spent most of my adult life running two small travel companies here and in Europe. Of course, now I have set my sights on medicine.

So here’s the question. I have researched several post-bacc premed programs, but I would like to know if any of you had any thoughts on the benefits of doing a post-bacc program vs. taking the prereq courses on my own. (I searched for old topics, but didn’t find any that addressed this question.)

Money is obviously a big issue and some of the post-bacc programs don’t even have any link with consort schools. I have heard med students say both that it is definitely worth it, while others say just to buckle down and get the prereq’s done independently. Thoughts?

Thanks in advance. Hope everyone’s having a great day.

e

As you suggest, you’re going to hear many varied comments on this. Keep checking the forums because I think this has been discussed numerous times, most recently in the past couple of months.