Intro, and soliciting feedback on Hunter UMass Boston's post bacc program

Hi everyone,

I’ve been lurking on here for a little while, and wanted to make a quick intro before I seek some input.

I reside in NYC and am currently applying for a few post bacc premed programs (HES, UMass Boston, and Hunter - the budget options!). I’m 25, going on 4 years out of undergrad where I majored in Film, so needless to say I will be starting from scratch as far as coursework goes. I had a 3.53 GPA as an undergrad, scored a 1430 on the GRE, so I feel somewhat confident that I should be able to tackle the hard math & sciences despite not having taken an since my senior year of high school!

I have seen a lot of feedback online re: Harvard’s post bacc program, but not nearly as much about UMass Boston or Hunter’s programs. Anyone here been through one of these programs and have any general or specific impressions to share?

Thanks in advance for any input! I’ve really appreciated the positive and encouraging tone on this forum, quite different than the other forums out there.

Best,

Lucy

Hi Lucy,

If you are strained for $$, there is another option in NYC- City College with their post-bacc program. Just a thought.

However, Hunter has priority registration for the post-bacc premed students and that’s a huge asset in overcrowded public schools.

I did a lot of research on both and went to City so feel free to msg me about any questions you have.

Current Hunter student here. I know a LOT about the program. Feel free to message me as well.

Thanks dnelsen! I was just about to PM you, but then thought maybe it would be helpful to keep our exchange on the public post for future members who might be interested in Hunter’s program, if that sounds OK?

I’d love just to to hear some of your initial thoughts about the program, what the major upsides/drawbacks have been in your experience, what factors went into your decision, any tips to make the most of it, etc…

Really appreciate it!