Intro and some questions

Hello all! I’m here looking for some information and any advice that you may have to offer. I suppose a little background is in order. I graduated from Appalachian State University in May of 2003 with a degree in Applied Mathematics. My overall GPA was 3.21, with a comparable science GPA (don’t have the exact number right now). I am missing some key courses needed for medical school. Specifically, I have not had any college level biology or chemistry courses. I have been considering post-baccalaureate pre-medical programs. If anyone has any experience with these please share your thoughts. It will be about a year before I feel comfortable enough to quit my job and go back to school. Is there anything that is recommended to do to improve my chances of being successful in the interim? My work schedule is not the easiest to work with, but I’ve finally managed to make some arrangements that should enable me to volunteer at the hospital nearby. If anyone has any information about how financial aid would work in my situation, I would appreciate that as well. A big worry is that I’ve been trying to save money for a few years now, so any look into my finances at the time I’ll be applying would show substantial income in the previous year with significant money in a savings account (not nearly enough to pay for school flat out, but enough that I think it would disqualify me for aid). Thanks in advance!

Mike

Hi!

3.21 is not bad at all, if you have some undergrad science to still take then just sign up for it, AMCAS will count it in the undergrad GPA, so if you can ace these the GPA will go up and you get closer to the magic 3.4 GPA. You may not need a formal Post bac (they cost $$) the keys to to acceptance are:

GPA

MCAT

Shadowing

Pt. Contact exprience

Volunteering

With these and good LORs ( you can get these from the science you need to take along with the Docs you shadow)

IMHO you are in good shape here.