Intro/Need Insight

Hi everyone!

I am happy to have found this site. I find it to be a useful resource. I am 24 and married to a very supportive husband and don’t necessarily count as old, but I am certainly non-traditional. My story is more complicated than others, but I will not give up on my dream of being a physician.

I’ll start off with saying that after high school, I went to Arizona State with no idea what I was doing. I left because I couldn’t afford it and left behind a 2.7 GPA. I came home to CT and started completely over at community college. I graduated with an Associate’s in General Studies with a 3.85 and transferred to Goodwin College, a tiny, private college that isn’t very competitive, but a very good environment for me personally. I am a Health Science major and have been working full-time with the disabled/mentally ill since 19 and the balance can be very tricky. Because of this, I have not taken any medical school prerequisites yet, because I want to enjoy my undergrad studies, plus I simply cannot afford the extra classes (they are also sparse and at inconvenient times). My school has no premedical advising and I plan to take the DIY route. My last semester is this Fall, and I am scheduled to graduate with a 3.9. I just got accepted into a clinical research program at a hospital in Bridgeport for the Fall, and I’m hoping to get the most out of it. Once I am finished, I know that I need to jump into prereqs, but I’m not sure how to go about this. I contacted several schools that appeal to me and asked about credits from community college. Hofstra gave me the thumbs up, Quinnipiac said the same, but said to mix them with 4-year credits, and New York MC said yes, but a post-bacc would strengthen my application. Currently waiting to hear from UCONN and Howard. I absolutely cannot afford a post-bacc, nor do I feel like I need one, since I am not cleaning up my GPA–if would probably just be nice to have some advising and MCAT prep, but I am very di