intro

Hello everyone.

Been reading for a while but just joined up. I have what I belive is a complex situation on my path to medicine.

I’m 38 (39 when I start classes in the fall). I know from reading this forum that that is not too old but every doctor I know personally thinks I’m totally insane!

I am currently a teacher in an inner city public school. In graduate school, I did very well (3.67). I also know from reading these forums that graduate grades have very little to no bearing whatsoever on medical school admissions. I also owned a business for 6 years. My story is more compelling than that, I believe, but I’ll just leave it there.

Here’s where it gets bad: 2.7 uGPA from 20 years ago, littered with Fs and Ws, no science. No ECs.

I applied to several postbacc programs. So far, I have been accepted to one and have been invited for an interview with another. I’m still waiting to hear from some other schools. Unbelievably, the interview school is a top tier postbacc and one where you would look at my uGPA and say "Say what?!??? Of course I know I still have a daunting task at this interview but my grades somehow made the cut. In any event, I do know I’m headed to a formal postbacc this fall for sure.

So where do I stand? Let’s say I’m accepted into this top tier program, ace it (I know, you don’t need to go there!), I just don’t see how I can get the GPA to an acceptable level even with a staight 4.0. With a 3.8-4.0 science GPA, lots of ECs during the postbacc, and a reasonably good score on the MCAT (30+), will medical schools give me a look, given the uGPA was so long ago?

I still leave open the option of physician assistant school if med school is an impossibility but I really want to be a doctor and want to study at an american school. MD preferably but I would do DO.

Great forum! Thanks!