Intro

Hi. I am a 26 year old single mom who is finally following her dream. I have a BS in Psychology and a MS in Human Development.I work full time as an Education Counselor for the Army. I am getting ready to take my last 5 undergrad pre-reqs starting this summer. I am nervous since I am starting out with Chem 2 in the summer and it has been a good 7 years since I took the first part. sad.gif But I am confident I can do it and do it well. I went through my undergrad days without studying and managed decent grades. Now I am much more focused. I am dreading OChem, though. Scared to death of it actually. Anyway, the reason I decided to post was because I have been lurking around reading postings and noticed that most postings are from married people. Are there any single moms or dads out there? Can medical school be done as a single parent without someone to bring home the bacon!? unsure.gif Also I was wondering if there are any OPM’s out there trying to get into Vanderbilt or who have already gotten into Vandy? Seems from the statistics that they don’t have many nontraditionals and that scares me. I guess I am just full of questions and not sure where to turn. Any ideas or comments would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

welcome !
we do have several single mom's and dad's but you might not be able to tell from their postings - maybe they will come out of the woodwork. we also have many single kid-less folk who contemplate or currently are going through medical school without a breadwinner - so you are in good company either way.
Lisa

Hey–don't stress out about Orgo. Not yet anyway! It's different from Gen Chem but definitely builds on the stuff you'll be learning there. Keep up with the work you're doing now, and once you get to that class you'll be able to handle it.