Introduction and a question

Hi all,

My name is Eric and I’m an x-ray tech in the Houston area. I’ve been working in medicine for about 3 years and have been interested in becoming a doctor ever since my clinical days. It’s something I had never considered before hand, but once I got a taste of clinical medicine, I found it endlessly facinating and still do.

I am married and have a step daughter, and there in lies my dilemma. My wife is a nurse and a wonderful and supportive partner, however, when the issue of furthering my education veers in the direction of med school, it does not end well. She has an undeniably valid argument, that med school is an enormous sacrifice of time and energy and that would more than likely infringe heavily on my time with her and our daughter.

I can’t argue that point away, I know she is completely right. Is there anyone here who has delt with a similar situation, trying to convice a spouse to support your desire to become a doctor? If so and you were successful, how did you balance time between your commitments to both sides? This is such a difficult topic to bring up between the two of us, and I generally find myself avoiding it to spare us a fight. I have a lot of work to do before I would even be ready for the MCAT let alone med school, so timing is not imparitive, but at some point I’ll have to make a really good case or kiss my dream goodbye.

Thanks in advance for any advice, or if you just post to say hi. This is such a wonderful, supportive community and I’ve gleaned so much information just by browsing the forums. I want to say thank you to everyone here for that!