Introduction and advice

Hello!

My name is Meghan and I am a 27 y.o. professional living in MN. I currently work in the medical field, cytogenetics to be specific, and have recently been very serious about going back to school for a medical degree! I would like advice on how to best proceed as I am getting conflicting advice.

My situation:

I earned my undergraduate degree in 2011 and I graduated with a cumulative GPA of 3.04. This is mostly due to not being focused my freshman year and overextending myself. However, there was a remarkable upward trend in the more difficult classes as I moved through my undergraduate degree. I am currently enrolled in a graduate degree program in Molecular Biology and Biochemistry while concurrently working full time. Admittedly, my undergraduate grades aren’t the best but I have been doing well in graduate level classes.

Aside from the lower than average GPA I feel like the rest of my application has the potential to be very strong as a non-traditional student. I work in the medical field, have been published, did research as an undergraduate, I currently working on project with some of the directors, present at conferences, participate in the city orchestra and hold board member seat, can have great letters of recommendation, etc. I still have yet to take the MCAT but plan on doing it in January/February of this year.