Introduction and advice

First off - I must say this is such an inspiring group. I’ve spent weeks reading diaries and these threads and LOVE watching what you’re all accomplishing.

I’m 43 years old and cannot shake the passion and desire to go for med school. Here’s my biggest problem though - I still do not have a Bachelor’s Degree. For many reasons I did not attend college after high school (mostly financial and family issues), I’ve taken a handful of classes off and on over the years but regret that I don’t have that 4-year degree.

I have a lot of work experience (currently in an admin position in a hospital) and LOTS of patient experience as I’ve had numerous health issues over the years and my daughter is a regular patient at Hopkins for IV infusions due to a blood disorder. I’ve become a “med student” by proxy and now that my years of needing to be home and really focus on my daughter’s health are slowing down I finally know what I want to be “when I grow up” and am very afraid that with the lack of any kind of degree it will not be possible.

I have been strongly considering going the nursing route. We have a great nursing program here at our local community college and a BSN program at a 4-year school. I feel like the nursing route IS the most direct route to MD for me, but I also know from all I’ve read here that med schools may not look favorably on me going through the nursing program and immediately applying to med school.

I know I’m smart enough to do this, I’m just afraid I’m way too late.

Would love to hear some feedback from anyone.

Thanks for your time!

cmoss -

If you are really interested in nursing that may be a route to take. I taught nursing for many years, and myself got into medical school from a nursing background - it was, however, with a background a many years experience as a nurse and NP. If I may, I would like to point out a few downsides that you may not be aware of.