Introduction, and the usual questions :)

Hi everybody! My name is Lauren and I’m currently a public school teacher in a big midwestern city. I’ve been thinking about switching to a career in medicine for a long time, and am finally at a point in my teaching career where I feel like I can transition into something new. It took me a couple years of teaching to realize my real passion is in women’s health, specifically reproductive health. I’d like to go to med school and become an OB/GYN.

As an undergrad, I received a BA in English and I’ve taken some grad school classes for teaching (I’ll have a graduate certificate in Teaching English as a Second Language by the end of the summer). To my knowledge, the only pre-med coursework I have under my belt is one semester of sociology, one semester of psychology, and one semester of the most introductory Biology lab (at my school it was BIO 103, and I received a B in the course, so I might retake it as a refresher and to get my grade up to an A). So I have a LOT to do. Could I get it done in just one year?

Right now I’m leaning toward the DIY post-bacc pre-med path. I know it’s not as appealing as an actual post-bacc premed program, which makes me nervous. For financial reasons, I’ll probably do all my coursework at my alma mater (George Mason University) and then apply to med school. I joined this community to get as much advice as possible, from people who are having similar experiences. I also like the idea of having a place to ask questions that are unique to “older” pre-med students.