Introduction - Don

Hello everybody. My name is Don and I’m a pre-old-premed student. That is to say, I’m currently 32 years old, but I don’t have an undergrad degree so I have to accomplish that first (while working). Thus, by the time I actually get to med school, I’ll be close to 40.

I did attend college for a bit about 5 years ago, but I dropped out for 2 reasons: Lack of motivation and economic issues

I currently work as an computer engineer and I’m good at it, but like a lot of people here I don’t find the job fulfilling. I’ve considered going to medschool since I was young, but just didn’t make it happen. Which is probably good because I didn’t have the self-discipline to make it through at the time. Now that I’m older I understand myself better and it’s brought me back to analyzing my current career and deciding to go to medschool.

The difficulty for me is going to be maintaining my job and getting my undergrad sometime before I die. My goal is to take 9 credits at a time while working full-time and I’m going to test myself this spring semester to see if I can do it.

To save money, I’m going to get an Associates of Science from a Community College to transfer to a 4-year university (since I don’t currently have a degree). At the university I’m planning to get a degree in Biology with an emphasis on Microbiology. I figure that will look good to medschool admissions. (And it should be interesting. And if I change my mind, at least I have a degree.) I expect that once I get to the 4-year I’m going to have to get student loans, so the Community College will also act as a “How bad to you really want this before getting deep into debt?”-filter.

Hi there,

welcome!

You are not that old by the way, but you are right getting an undergrad represent some serious investment (time and money).

I don’t know about your story and don’t mean to provide useless pieces of advice, but have considered working on a lower work load (ie part-time) if possible?