Introduction/ Post Bacc Questions

I am a Newbie here and graduated in 93’ 1)so does that disqualify all pre req coursework? 2)Any suggestions on whom to speak with to find out about “non-traditional parameters”. After re-reading other related discussions I am leaning toward redoing all science based coursework. So back to 2-4 years of math, biology, chemisty, physics just to prep for MCATS and entrance requirements! The reality of that timeline plus the 8-10 years once we are accepted is…slightly overwhelming to this 42 yo single parent.

As I understand it, pretty much any med school is going to disregard any pre-req courses over 5-10 years old (the exact time frame varies, but I haven’t heard of any that accept 10+). For MCAT purposes, you’ll definitely want Biology at the very least, it changes too quickly for anything really over 5 years to be worth much to you. If you’re in a hurry, highly motivated and well-financed, then you could look into taking a one-year post-bacc program and be done in 12 months, but you have to realize that you can’t even consider working or doing anything other than considering school your full-time job if you go that route. You could also do self-directed in two years pretty easily, as well, assuming you have a flexible enough schedule to be able to take all the courses you need.

You already have the degree, so more math is not required. You might consider hiring a tutor and/or getting a workbook and refresh yourself on algebra and trig. If you intend to apply to a school that requires calc-based physics you’ll want to brush up there too. Then jump in with re-doing the basic sciences.