Introduction/Request For Advice

Howdy all!

I’m very happy to have stumbled upon this gem of a community. Although I don’t quite do the bill of “old” pre-med I definitely fall in to the camp of non-traditional (actually done by choice).

I am 22 years old, been married for about nine months, and the both of us have been working full time saving up money for pre-med schooling. I graduated May 2015 from a rigorous classical liberal arts college with a BA in Liberal Arts and Culture (overall GPA 3.36). The curriculum was primarily classical-philosophy, western thought, ethics, philosophy of math, four years of advanced Latin, reading, writing, speaking, with the occasional fun elective (Jewish Exegesis, Aesthetic Gastronomy, Marine Biology, Herpetology, and a handful of MA level classes). I knew before going out to this college I wanted to go in to medicine; I was initially thinking the PA route but through a few turns of events and mulling it over I am aiming to become a DO (again specifically because I much prefer the philosophy behind the education). I’ve shadowed a number of physicians, ~60 hours in clinic or in the OR. I am just finishing up a Pre-Calc course (first math course since high school) and am looking to get an A+.

Apart from that pre-calc course I have none of the science or math pre-read for medical school admissions. Possibly complicating my position is the fact that my bachelors degree is from a notionally credited college (through the U.S. Dept. of Ed. and CHEA); am I wrong in thinking that most Post-bacc/DO programs require a regionally accredited degree? I’ve seen a few colleges that specifically mention it, but not all of them. I have a couple options that I would love some advice on:

• Post-bacc pre-med program that would take about a year and a half to get a BS in Biomedical Sciences (Dominican University in Chicago)