Introduction/Scared about Residency

Hi all.

I’ve been reading this board for about 3 months. Thank you all for your shared wisdoms. 3 months is also the from when I first decided to go to medical school to my first day of Pre-Med class hoping to enter med school in 2014-15.

I’m 36, father of two 10-month old twins, and 1 3-month fetus. I’m currently an RF engineer, who struggles to find personal connection and meaning in my job.

Anyways, I’ve been working through all the downsides to a mid-life change to medicine. I think I can make the money’s work out. I’m still a little quesy around blood and guts, but I’ve been watching surgery videos on ORLive/You-tube to help. But mostly I’m still scared of residency and the 80 hours+ weeks.

My soon to be brother in law, currently doing a fellowship in pediatric othro, off the cuff said that 75% of residents over 35 don’t make it - and that most of the older physicians were going to family practice.

So here’s my questions, becuase I haven’t seen any one really posting about it?

1)Is 80 Hours really doable at 45+? I’ve barely worked over 50-60hrs as an engineer…Any thoughts? I’m personally nervous becuase I’ve fought with insomnia and try to control my schedule to maintain sleep. Do most of you just assume you can plow through, and survive on the other end of residency?

2)Is it common for a non-trad to look at specialties- rather than family practice? One of my main interests I have in becoming a doctor is helping people deal with terminal issues and using technology to help, and as such I’m looking at the Med/Rad Oncology.

Thanks to anyone who reads through,

Scott

Hi there and welcome to OPM, you are among kindred spirits.