Introduction

Greetings all,
I was turned on to this web site from a Usenet recommendation. Very nice implementation. Especially the privacy guards.
I am almost 45 years old and thinking very seriously about chucking it all and going back to school to become a physician, maybe with a PhD in biosciences.
I have been a software engineer for the last 23 years.
My pre-requisites are VERY stale so I would have to take all the biology, chemistry, physics and calculus all over again, hopefully with a 4.0/4.0 this time. Does anybody have any other suggestions as to what I need to take? Do medical schools also look at previous ancient grades? In other words, if I showed a 3.8-4.0 GPA this time through, does my 22 year old “D” in Chemistry 101 have any bearing?
I am just in the beginning stages of exploring this insane idea and do not have any of the books or any of the reference materials yet.
I tell myself that I must be crazy to try this, but it would be something that I would be doing not only because I have always wanted to be a physician but to also prove to myself that I can do it. Heh.
On the one hand, I figure that I am very much older than the large majority of the other people I would be interacting with in these programs and I might have problems keeping up, but on the other hand, I have had over 20 years of an engineering career to discipline my mind and that would be my advantage. I am also unencumbered by any family obligations, so my time would be totally my own.
I also have a lot of money saved up so financially, this would not be a problem, at least for the first few years.
Any insights or advice would be welcomed.
Stephen Biggs