Introduction

Hey OPM! I am John Fitzgerald, and I am currently a BS/MD Candidate at Tennessee State University. I am on track to enter Meharry Medical College Fall 2013 (provided the Mayans are wrong…hehe). I am very excited about my journey as I am most definitely not alone. My family consists of my wife and 3 children, ages 3,7,&9. I am a full time student this semester. I currently have a 4.0 with the my current University. A bit about my background. I began this journey back in the Fall of 1996, when I entered Morehouse College as a pre-med student. My time there was both glorious and short-lived. I ended up moving back home after my first year. I decided to veer off course a lot after becoming infatuated with the music industry and the prospect of becoming an entertainment attorney. So I started my own recording label and went back to school to major in communications at MTSU. I met my now wife in the Fall of 1999, and I pledged Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. Spring 2000, which happened to be my worst semester ever. Prior to MTSU, I attended Volunteer State C.C. and transferred to MTSU with a 3.7. When I left MTSU, I had a 1.9 GPA.:(. I was kind of in and out of school attempting to find my way. One year later, we acquire my then 2 week old niece and adopted her (she is now 9 years old). I felt like I needed to do something really fast regarding a career, so I got my insurance license and my series 6,63 and began selling insurance and mutual funds. I did this for 8 years up until the market began to turn at the end of 07. It was at this time that I decided to finish what I started in 1996. So, I researched TSU and found they were one of the few Universities that had the BS/MD Degree Program. I met with an adviser and so my journey began Fall of 2009. I applied for academic fresh start and have maintained a 4.0 GPA ever since. I am supposed to take the MCATs some time next year. Reaching this goal is especially important to me, because I was voted most likely