Introductions and Introductory Questions

Hello all,

I am pretty new to OldPreMeds, and this is my first post. I’m a 35 year old career professional, and I’m thinking about a change to medicine. So far, this site looks like a great resource, with a lot of helpful folks. I have some pretty newbie questions, but I’m going to ask them anyway in hopes that the group might provide some insight on my particular situation. Additional personal background includes an undergrad biology degree, but with poor grades (I wasn’t emotionally ready for college at the time). I have a recent MBA with a 3.7 GPA. I have a very successful career with a lot of management, leadership, project management and strategic experience. I’m talented and hard-working, but at 35, I’m looking for something that I’m more dedicated to, personally.

I’m a bit nervous about some of these, but here goes:

Am I being foolish going to medical school at my age given the changing environment of medicine? Money isn’t everything, but physician pay/reimbursements are declining, yet education costs are not going down. Will I be in debt for 15 years after this 15 year journey ends?!? I know you’ll all balk at the age part, but I do worry about the age/school debt thing.

Am I dreaming to think that I can retake some of my basic science undergrad courses, do well in them and the mcat, and still be a reasonably competitive candidate? Of course, doc shadowing, community service, etc. are included.

How important is a good medical school vs. a good residency program?

Should the medical school have an established teaching hospital with many specialty areas for clinicals, or is it ok to rely on local practices for a lot of year 3 (some local schools rely heavily on local docs for clinical rotations).