introductions

Hello. My name is Ivan Olson. I am new to the site and thought that I would introduce myself. I am 31, married, and have 2 daughters (6 & 3), and I am currently a pre-med student at Metropolitan State College of Denver. I have a B.A. in History, was licensed for Secondary Education, and originally had ambitions of being a history teacher. I found that there were very few job openings for new history teachers, and I needed to financially make ends meet for my wife and new daughter at the time. I found a job at brokerage firm where I became a stock broker, project manager, and trainer. Originally this was very challenging and exciting but after a few years I began to realize that I had taken a wrong turn somewhere. After 6 years I parted with my firm and I now have 2 semesters of pre-med behind me. Currently I am most interested in rural medicine and I am eyeing schools that specialize in this field. I have completed a pre-med ER internship at Lutheran Medical Center, and I am looking for an opportunity to shadow a D.O. and shadow a rural doctor. Is there anyone else in Denver on OPM?

Welcome Ivan!!
You will find that OPM is a great site for advice and encouragement as you journey through premed-dom and on to medical school.
I applaude your choice of rural medicine, but encourage you to keep your options open as you both prepare for and enter medical school. You will find during your future rotations that there are many areas of interest in the medical field and what you now desire may change several times before you reach a final decision.