Is a convoluted or drawn-out path to medical school an application killer?

Unlike many OPMs who finally figure out what they want to do (become a physician) and then go all out with premed and applications, my path to medical school has been long and drawn-out. I finished my first bachelor’s degree in 2001, and my second bachelor’s degree in 2013, after having done many years of medical work (as an MA and HA), lots of international health work, and several years of ethnographic fieldwork and public health projects. However, this work is not blocked out in time, but all are interleaved with each other. For example, I did most of my second bachelor’s until 2011, then took time off for MCAT, fieldwork, and public health work, and then returned to finish the degree. I am now studying for the MCAT again.

I am concerned that adcomms will expect a straight-through older premed course (premed classes + volunteering, then MCAT, then application), whereas mine is: work + volunteer + classes, then more work + more classes + more volunteer, repeat, etc. Part of the reason that I’ve taken so long is that my volunteer work involves 3 health projects and each requires more than just showing up and helping with patients. In addition to assisting health providers and translating, I also coordinate the clinics and do the logistics of getting supplies, providers, and products to the clinics.

I’m no expert on what ad-coms think, but I wouldn’t think so. Your story is your story, and there’s no use pretending otherwise. What might seem strange to one ad-com would make you the best candidate to another.

More than ever, it seems schools want a diverse student population. Having extra years and experience is a huge plus, IF you can talk about what you learned along the way. Personally, since I made a total career change, I used my application to highlight what those years taught me about who I am and what I value.