Is July to late to take the MCAT

Hello all,

So I am in a very agonizing position. I have always contemplated a health care career but have been highly interested in a dental career. I graduated from undergrad in December 09 and applied for dental school in August of 09. I still have not heard from two schools but it doesn’t look good. I am looking into my plan B options and am freaking out. I didn’t want to register for another test until I knew about dental school but now I am in a time crunch. I am looking into applying to DO schools but cannot take the MCAT until July. Do you think that is too late? Do you think I will have enough time to study? Should I just wait until Fall of 2012 acceptance? I am also looking into PA and plan to apply to dental school again but I would like to apply to something else too. Any advice would help.

you aren’t sure where you want to be.

you aren’t sure if you’ll have enough time to study.

you aren’t sure if July will be too late.

The confusion and desperation I hear in your voice demands

RULE 1: TAKE A BREATH! and RULE 10: FUD - FEAR, UNCERTAINTY and DOUBT

Rushing to do the MCAT may lead to a lower score, then applying slightly behind the the timing curve without a real commitment to being a physician is likely to lead to rejections. Whether or not you’ll make a good applicant is beyond the point. You clearly do NOT know what you want to do.

I would strongly suggest that you NOT apply to schools this year, spend the time volunteering in facilities and/or shadowing dentists, physicians, and PAs to figure out what you really want. You can then spend the time mastering the MCAT and the DAT and be in a much stronger, more confident position next year to apply.