Is this a symptom of needing to into Medicine?

A little play on words as this being a ‘symptom’ but nonetheless appropriate.

I am about to turn 32 year old man with two kids. I am going through a divorce that will be finalized in 2-3 months with no hope of reconcile.

I work as an X-ray tech and have been in my field of 9 years.

I think about going into medicine almost everyday…especially when my career allows me to more direct patient contact and working with doctors to help patients.

I’ve dreamed this dream before…but now that my divorce is definitely proceeding I feel such despair at how to proceed.

I will be divorcing her with a good job and at the height of my income. If I make it into medical school it will be by aggressively retaking prerequisites and at best entering a D.O. program as I was originally pre-pharmacy in my early twenties and had no passion for learning like I do now and no grade forgiveness concerns me.

How on earth will I afford the child support while I am in medical school?

Does being a doctor mean I will not have time for my children? Does that make me a bad father for wanting to do something like this? I love my children…they are my world…but yet this dream persists.

I have become more of a humanist these past few years…with a considerable desire to service others.

I’ve read much on finance and business and know with great confidence that if I was to focus on being wealthy I would be a very wealthy man and could use philanthropy to benefit society.

Yet I remain ever fond more than before of being a physician…not because of the money…as the medical profession is more than ever less stable and more work for less pay.

Yet if I was a millionaire tommorow I would stop working immediatly and go to school to be a physician.

It is like a knot that sits heavy inside my stomach…trying to decide how to proceed. I have tried to rationalize this dream away time and time again…

‘‘It’s too expensive’’

‘‘Student loan debt is the most toxic’’