Just getting started on this journey

Hi all!!

I’m Hannah, 27 yrs old, from South Carolina.

I’m just getting started on this journey … completely my AS right now. I am taking my first college Biology class this Spring and really looking forward to it. I am still feeling my way around, trying to figure out if this is the right dream for me.

I currently work in Marketing at a large company and I love it, but I keep being pulled towards medicine (either psychiatry or surgery are pulling at me) and I don’t know if it’s right for me but I’m willing to give it a shot. I am taking the biology, am planning to take some chemistry and more math, and see where it takes me.

Anyone else in the (way) beginning of their journey??

HannahG.

Hey Hannah, yeah I’d say I’m still barely on the road since I haven’t taken any of my pre-med reqs yet and still at a CC. Best advice I can offer is volunteer at a hospital when you get the chance and see if you feel at home there. I noticed that feeling the first time I volunteered several weeks ago…that could be one way to see if it’s right for you!

I’m also just starting the process of going back to school with the hope of one day going to medical school. I’m almost finished with my clinical license in social work…and even though this is a health related profession I feel compelled to go back to school to become a doctor. I’m thinking along the lines of neurology or psychiatry.

I haven’t started taking classes yet…I’m currently working on putting together information to take with me when I meet with my pre-med advisor. My biggest concern is how to pay for the pre-med classes…anyone have any suggestions?

• nshiraev Said:
My biggest concern is how to pay for the pre-med classes...anyone have any suggestions?

nshiraev -

See my post (and for that matter the whole thread) here . It pretty well sums up the options out there.

Good luck.

Amy