Just started the path...

This is simply an introduction, though any suggestions will be GREATLY appreciated.

I decided to become a doctor. (surprise … surprise) I am older than most on here at 54. I worked as an VP Engineering (which was never a field I enjoyed - but it paid the bills) and put 5 kids through college - well, I still have one to go. I was a Volunteer Paramedic and Assitant Chief, Emergency Medical Services years ago and always wanted to get involved like that again at some point.

I thought about retirement and decided that what I really wanted to do in “retirement” was be a doctor, preferably in underserved areas or possibly even with services such as “Drs without Borders”.

That brings me here. I have poor grades from college 3 decades ago, great grades in a couple classes since (a maturity factor, I believe) and am taking Cell and Molecular Bio, Organic Chem and A&P in the over the next few semesters at local colleges. I am also studying every night for the past 3 months (Chem, Bio, Physics, etc). I plan on taking the first practice MCATS mid summer and one a month after that until next spring.

I honestly fear my biggest barrier will be the fact that I wont be entering a Med school until I am AT LEAST 55 or 56. But I have no intention on retiring at 65, 70, or???

I stumbled across this site and it looked like the type of support group I would like to be part of.

So, thats me. Wish me luck.

Thomeng

well welcome among us. I wish you the best. If this is what you want then you should do your best and try your hardest. History shows that this is possible.

Please keep us posted as we always like to hear about the adventures of members here. Yours will sure be interesting to follow.

Good luck.