Just starting out - what to choose for undergrad?

Hi everyone! I’m new here but am so glad that I found this site some weeks back. For some reason I thought that at the age of 33 medical school was an impossibility. But now I see that is definitely not the case. But I’m looking for some advice. I do not yet have an undergraduate degree! I have been a medical coder and auditor for 12 years and have owned my own business for the past 5 years. College was not an option when I graduated high school (top 2% of my class). I had to enter the work force, and I’ve worked in hospitals ever since. I’m determined to make it into medical school. I need advice on what undergrad to pursue. Other forums that I’ve seen disuade from choosing a pre-med degree because it’s useless if you don’t get into medical school; however, those were sites geared toward younger persons. Would that advice still apply to “old” applicants? My goal is to get into medical school and I don’t want to waste any more time than is necessary. So to meet all the prereqs, would pre-med be the best option so I don’t risk having to take additional classes beyond what another degree requires? Or should I pick another major? I’m currently enrolled in biotechnology at a CC which will transfer to a molecular biology major at a nice state university (where I would take the bulk of my prereq sciences). But I’m wondering if I should change. The mol bio major involves A LOT of sciences, which I am very excited about and interested in but which go above and beyond the necessary prereqs, so would that just take up more time than is needed? I work full time currently, but will be cutting back my schedule to accommodate university class schedules. I’m open to suggestions!