killing my confidence...

My ‘thick skin’ is beginning to wane. I am being hit from all angles and walks of life that applying this year is a good idea and a horrible idea. I listed my info and some burning ques…

My background info:

I graduated with a degree in biology and chemistry in 2007 a GPA of 3.1. I was in the premed program at the time, thus all my prerequisites are fulfilled. I attempted the MCAT back then and only received a 20. At that point I felt I wasn’t ready to apply with those “stats” and I wasn’t mentally prepared nor aware of what medical school would require. Therefore I accepted a job as an intraoperative neuromonitoring tech, which entailed working daily in the operating room. If you are unfamiliar with this job, I provide neuromonitoring during, mainly neurosurgery, but orthopedic and general surgery as well. This job has provided me with years and a vast experience in surgery (over 4000 surgical cases) and with many types of surgeons specifically. In my time since school, I have began a family and learned/experienced/shado wed as many physicians in different fields as I possibly could. I feel that with everything I have learned, now is my time to apply. I know better than a lot of applicants what I am entering into and I am not only ready but know without a shadow of a doubt this is what I want to do with my life. I took an undergraduate anatomy and physiology course last semester, received an A, and I am currently enrolled in graduate courses virology and molecular biotechnology (so far both A’s). As I am still a full time working mother, these classes and the biology masters program is online. I have had a few medical school application consultants tell me that online courses have a stigma. I tried the MCAT again last year and only reached a 23. So here are the questions…

• are online course/masters programs frowned upon?

• Is this taken with a ‘grain of salt’ for full time working applicants?