Letters of recommendation...a dilemma

Hello everyone. Here’s my situation…if I get the summer school class I need, and subsequently find a way to support myself over the summer, I will be able to apply to medical school in June of 2007 (if not, it will have to be June 2008). I am currently in my last semester of physics and I have my eye on my professor for a letter of rec. Any suggestions on how to do this? My ideas: have him write a letter at the end of the semester (not sure if he should date them June '07 or not), print out 29 copies (that’s unfortunately the number of medical schools I’m planning to apply to), get him to stuff the envelopes, and then I’ll keep them in a safe place until I apply in a year or two; or, I could ask him to write a letter and save it on his computer with the arrangement that I will contact him in a year or two…but who knows what could happen in 2 years. Also, this is not someone I feel super-confident calling and stalking for two years just to get a good letter in 07 or 08…the man’s has a wife, three kids, and two jobs! Also, I have no idea which schools use a standard letter of recommendation form and which schools accept typed letters…what do I do? I finished my undergrad work (the first go round) 10 years ago, so those professors are out as far as letters of rec. I really like this professor and he seems amenable to writing letters of recommendation for pre-meds. Does anyone out there have any good ideas/insight/similar experiences? Thank you in advance!
Ashley

If the schools to which you’re applying accept it (I believe many do), you may want to check out a service like Interfolio. As I understand, your letter-writers mail directly to Interfolio, and they mail out certified copies for you as you need - for a price, of course.