Little Timeline Guidance Here...?

Hi.

My name is Brian – I’m a 28 y/o Special Forces Combat Medic and I’m separating from the Army at the tail end of summer next year. I have formal training in combat medicine, trauma, advanced airways, anesthesia, minor surgery, exotic disease, A&P, and alot of other ailments that typically visit the military demographic. I would like to continue my career in medicine as a doctor, but I am struggling with a realistic timeline to pitch to my wife here … I am hoping some of you kind folks can assist me a little bit.

Here is my situation. Like many individuals on these boards, I have a non-science degree with a cumulative gpa of 3.83. I am looking at some postbacc programs to begin in the fall of next year full-time (on the montgomery gi bill). Naturally, because of my age I am in a hurry to get into med school (probably through the military scholarship).

My understanding is that the med school application process is a year long, so it would behoove me to take the MCAT in 2011 (spring preferably, summer if not). My question is this: if I start my sciences in the fall of 2010 at a postbacc program, will I have enough science education to (competitively) take the MCAT in the spring or summer of the following year?

And if you happen to have some good suggestions for where to look for post bacc or premed requirements for someone in my situation, I would very gladly receive them. Right now I am looking at the University of Louisville b/c my wife and I would be eligible for in-state tuition. However, their program can go as long as 24 months, which seems an awful long time for someone who wants to get started QUICK QUICK QUICK. Any specific or general guidance is immensely appreciated. Thank you so much.

Brian

5th Special Forces Group (Airborne)

SLOW, SLOW, SLOW… marathon, not sprint.

It sucks, I know. I’m almost 45 and have a year left before I can apply, let alone start.

One year general chem. Have that?