Long range goals, from mom to doc

Hey there, here’s a little about me.

I’m currently a stay at home homeschooling mom of 3 and a military spouse. I have a degree in Journalism, circa 2005, and I didn’t take very many sciences back then. My husband has about 12 or so more years before retirement, and my kids will all be through high school in the same amount of time. So, what am I going to do with all my freedom and newfound flexibility?? Well, I don’t have a crystal ball, but my plan is to put myself in a position to apply to medical schools at that point in my life. Perhaps I’ll go a different direction in the end, but I will take pre-reqs as we move around and prepare for the MCAT. I don’t want to get to that point and regret not being available to medicine.

Since I don’t have any science classes to speak of, I know that any career in medicine will require a lot of school. Initially, and as a catalyst to this newfound ambition, I was interested in becoming a psychiatrist. So I looked into becoming a psychiatric nurse practitioner. That would require a BSN to MSN to DPN, for example. I could rattle through a few others, and it seems they all require a lot of things that I don’t currently have. Time in one location longer than 2 years, clinical hours, pre-reqs, kids in school instead of at home, etc. So my best plan is to just get ready, prepare and aim high. I feel like whatever I do choose to pursue will need to be really worth all the effort, financially and personally.