Long-time Visitor; First-time Poster

Hello All,

As the topic says, I am a long time visitor to this website and finally decided to create an account and become active as a registered member. A small info about me;

I am an RN and realized in a year left to graduate from the program that nursing isn’t really my passion. But I decided to finish what I started and graduated with honors. After graduation, I was contemplating really hard if I should get my license or back and get my pre-reqs done (took me 5 months to decide!) I decided to get my license and got a job. Now I work at a Transitional Care Unit/Nursing Home. The experience and $ is good, but the passion for medicine is still there. So I have decided to go back and begin pre-reqs this coming spring at the State University where I graduated. I am very motivated and hope to get more motivation and support from everyone. Thank you for reading and please post your advice/tips/comments.

Thanks Again.

Congratulations on a longtime lurker becoming a poster.

Many of our members and successes were RN or allied health professionals before taking the path to becoming a physician. You probably made a good call in completing your nursing and working as an RN while getting your prereqs done. There is a a perception by students, advisors, and med school admissions staff that “jumping” (ie applying directly from nursing school) can raise questions about commitment, direction, and motivation of an applicant). Working for a few years in the field and ten applying implies a more deliberate, thoughtful analysis on the part of the applicant.

Welcome to OPM!

Whenever you have questions just jump in and post; as a lurker you know there are lots of us who spend more time on here than we should, answering away.

Welcome, DoctorMe!

• DoctorMe Said:
I am an RN and realized in a year left to graduate from the program that nursing isn't really my passion.