Looking at the next 3 years as a nontrad (military)

Hello everyone. I’m a recent graduate with a degree in biology from a well-known public school. I commissioned into the US military and am looking to apply to DO school in three years. Long story short, my GPA was only 3.1 and my science GPA is 2.81 (I’m assuming that no differentiation is made between A/A+ grades, but my sGPA is higher if these are taken into account). I was in an abusive relationship while in school, which led to many of the struggles and an overall inconsistency in my GPA (my last three semesters were 3.3, 3.34 and 3.02 respectively).

I realize that this is quite low and I am trying to raise my GPA prior to applying but am struggling about deciding between getting a second bachelors degree and my MS online. In person classes will not be possible, as I am stationed in a non-English speaking country and likely will not have access to English secondary education.

If I get my MS, I will likely pursue forensic science due to personal interest. If I look at a second bachelors, I would try to do either interdisciplinary studies or my BSN. All of these would be from an accredited state school. Does anyone have a similar experience and any advice for my situation?

Hey Sydney,

First off, Thank you for your service.

As far as GPA, check out mappd.com. It’s a website started by Dr. Gray and several others (including Dr. James Wright, a former Admissions Dean and Director of TMDSAS) and has some really good resources to help assess where you currently stand. Specifically, they have a good GPA calculation tool that will help give you a good approximation of how your GPA would be calculated on the application. The best part, they have a 2-week free trial, so it doesn’t cost you anything. Not saying you did anything wrong, just don’t want you to have to retake courses if you don’t actually have to.