LOR

Okay guys, I thought that it would be a good idea to start contacting professors for LOR's. Now, whom do they address these to if I have yet to see who will send me a secondary? is this a wise idea, to get letters now give them to the pre-med advisor and let him keep them until secondaries come rolling in. Will the date matter? if the professors write them now they will have January on them or whatever, but secondaries will not start coming in until August. I just want to get these dang letters because I know how busy professors get and when the time comes for them it will be a jumping through your @$$ type of thing. And God forbid they take their sweet old time and November rolls around and still no LOR. I want to be on top of things, and this seems like a good idea but I am no expert here. Can someone please clue me in? By the way in the summer I will be at Mayo doing research so getting hold of professors then will be impossible unless I e-mail. Thanks.

Hi,
My experience was somewhat unique, so it may be of little help.
I started college at one place, dropped out, went back 5 years later, dropped out again, transferred to another school and finished 11 years after my original matriculation to college.
I completed some of my prereqs at the first school, the others at the other school. Since I didn’t graduate from the first school, I didn’t qualify for a premed committee letter from them. Since I didn’t do enough science courses at the school I graduated from, I didn’t qualify for a committee letter from them either.
It seems that a committee letter is a blessing and a nightmare, from what I’ve gathered reading other people’s posts about waiting for the committee to meet, then write, then send their LOR. Some people posted having to wait 'til November for their committees to send out letters. ohmy.gif