Lots of questions

Hey everybody,
I’m absolutely new to this forum. But, I have read quite a few of the postings and felt very encouraged to voice (rather type) my questions. Hope somebody will have the patience to answer at least a few:).
I’m a foreign student living in the US. I’m getting my PhD in biomedical sciences. I hope to graduate by the end of 2004 or latest by may 2005.
I’m 30 years old, got a bachelors in agricultural sciences from my home country, got a Masters in Biology in the US. I have had a GPA of 3.83 in my undergrad and MS and I’m currently a 4.0 in the PhD. Sorry for this long preamble, but I thought it might be necessary for more specific answers.
I have always had a great passion for medicine but was not able to realize the dream when I was 17/18 years old. I would like to go to Med school in the USA. The earliest I can do that after I finish my PhD, all the prereqs and MCAT will be Fall 2006 by which time I will be 33. The questions are:
1) Will it be too late to start my MD at 33?
2) As a foreign student what are my chances of getting into Med school?
3) I know foreign students do not get loans and scholarships, is there anybody out there who knows of other sources of funding, maybe some philanthropists:)smile.gifsmile.gif
4) Am I going to be more discriminated against than my American counter parts?
5) I currently live in the SE and would like to continue to live here. Any reason for anybody to believe that some med schools in some parts of the country are more accepting of diversity than others?
6) Like somebody on one of the topics wrote, I’m a newly wed and my husband and I already live apart because of my PhD. I hope we can be co-located if and when I go to med school. My husband is very supportive and is willing to move to any place.
Any help/advice/suggestions etc in these matters and other related matters will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks a lot in advance
Priya

Hey Priya,