Major and Post Bacc

Hi,

I have really been wondering lately about what I should do about a degree and medical school. I have always wanted to be a doctor. However, playing a NCAA D-1 sport has really kept me from being able to take many labs. I am currently majoring in psychology. However, I am wondering if I should do neuroscience instead? I have really struggled with a major and in order to keep my scholarship I have to keep a 3.5 GPA which I have done for two years. However, should I continue to pursue any degree or should I switch to a science based degree as I have two years left. Or should I attend postbacc medical school after I graduate to get the prerequisites for medical school???Help please : )

Hello Alexis,

You can major in any field and still go to med school; your major doesn’t matter. You simply need to fulfill the required prerequisites for med school.

Whether you should try to cram in the science courses you need in your remaining two years is a personal and logistical decision. You should map out exactly when you’d take the classes (especially considering your time constraints as a D-1 athlete–congrats on that!) so you can figure out if it’s possible. If not, you may want to consider post-bac classes but that entails more money, of course. I would also recommend that you seek out the counsel of your premed advisor, who will be familiar with the curriculum at your school and the requirements of various majors. Good luck!

Liza

Given today’s economy, I don’t think Psych is the best choice for a college major. If for some reason you aren’t admitted to med school on your first try, it’s going to be VERY difficult to get a job paying decent money with a degree in this field. Not only that, my personal opinion is that course requirements for a Psych degree won’t prepare you well for the rigors of med school they way a degree in Neuroscience will.