Masters or Straight to Post Bac?

Good morning all,

I have a slight dilemma and some insight/advice would be greatly appreciated!

So like many here, I decided to pursue a medical career after I graduated. I graduated from a public university with a very good standing, however I didn’t do so well my freshman and junior year and ended up graduating with a 2.8 GPA with only the English, sociology, psychology, and Calc I prerequisites to show. That was a year ago (2015) and since then I’ve been working full-time and part-time.

But as I said I decided to pursue medicine as of this year. I’ve volunteered and got my CPR/AED certification, but I have a feeling that is not enough to show academic potential to these post bacc programs (I am definitely in the mindset to give my all to academics). I still want to try applying however in hopes that I can get a chance at any one of the good programs.

However, I’ve been talking to people and some have said that instead of going straight to a post-bacc pre med program, I should instead go and get my masters and once I have a degree (+ a good post bacc GPA to use) I should then apply to the post bac pre med programs and from there, medical school. I’ve weighed out the pros and cons to doing such a plan and here’s what I have:

Pros:

• I have a masters or Ph.D. Great potential there.
  • I have a good academic standing thus making me more competetive for applying to post-bac programs.
  • I intend on pursing a masters or Ph.D in Sociology or Social Work and get some research experience.

Cons:
  • Paying for another degree, plus post-bacc, PLUS medical school is going to weigh heavy on the wallet. But there are loan forgiveness programs (fingers crossed they stick around or get better) and/or a loan repayment program. Or I will win the lottery.

I want to be in school for the Fall 2017 term. Full-time.

Currently I am dedicating 2016/2017 to volunteering. I think I will take the GRE sometime in Dec.