May I ask for advice?

Hi Friends,
I read this site everyday, but very rarely post–that is until I now…My dilemma is that I just received my August MCAT score and it was very disappointing (in the low 20s). I studied with Examkrackers all summer, but still this result. My prerequisites are 6-9 years old, and although I have taken recent upper division coursework in the past 2 years, I wonder if my score reflects the fact that I’ve been away from the basic sciences for awhile, or just poor test performance. My state school says the age of my prerequisites don’t matter. My overall GPA is 3.72 and BCPM GPA is 3.66. I’m at a crossroads of whether I should just stop and take the classes over, or enroll in a test prep class (I studied on my own the first time). Thanks for your help!

Quote:

Hi Friends,
I read this site everyday, but very rarely post–that is until I now…My dilemma is that I just received my August MCAT score and it was very disappointing (in the low 20s). I studied with Examkrackers all summer, but still this result. My prerequisites are 6-9 years old, and although I have taken recent upper division coursework in the past 2 years, I wonder if my score reflects the fact that I’ve been away from the basic sciences for awhile, or just poor test performance. My state school says the age of my prerequisites don’t matter. My overall GPA is 3.72 and BCPM GPA is 3.66. I’m at a crossroads of whether I should just stop and take the classes over, or enroll in a test prep class (I studied on my own the first time). Thanks for your help!

Hi there,
One of the best means of preparation for MCAT is to purchased the retired exams and take them under test conditions. By doing this, you should have a good idea of what your problems may be. Do you have a knowledge deficit? Are you having problems with the way the test is structured? Do you have a problem with both of these things?