MCAT Guides, suggestions

I have recently embarked on my journey to medicine and will start with MCAT prep and possibly redoing some of my science classes soon. I do not have the the bandwidth to attend a formal MCAT class and will be learning from a book. What did most of you use to study? I see examkrackers, gold standard guides, and a few others being mentioned. Is it basically buy as many as you can, or is there a clear cut best option?

I am just starting out and any suggestions would be greatly welcomed.

one set of books that have been really helpful is actually not an mcat book per se. I am reviewing the material after a loooong time away from the classroom, so i had to go back to basics. the books by Klein titled “inorganic chem as a second language” as well as the organic I and II as a second language has really helped as a precursor to the Kaplan and princeton review material that i purchased. hope that helps…good luck! btw…they are relatively inexpensive ( around 30 bucks) and are readily available on amazon

Thanks for the suggestion, I will look for the books at Amazon. Very much appreciated.

While you may not the bandwidth for a class, you should strongly considered either an online self-paced course, a CBT, or another method that gives you access to realistic practice exams. I found them to be the most useful component. In the past I have used Kaplan and found there exams to be good practice. I believe that the AAMC also has CBTs for sale.

For self study books, many people swear by their content series “A thousand and one questions in…” They also have a somewhat dated but still useful series called “Audio Osmosis” 12 CD set which I still find much better in most areas than the test prep company classes.

There is another company that I have been dealing with which make a product called the gold standard which also has practice exams. I am sure that there are many others.