MD/PhD

I had heard of MD/PhD dual degree programs, but had never considered one due to the fact that I’m a non-traditional applicant. Recently, my boss suggested I consider it so I am starting to look into it.

My undergrad degree is in Human Development and my masters is in Education. Is it possible to pursue the MD/PhD dual degree program without a hard science background? I work as a research assistant at a university lab but I don’t have any publications (yet! :slight_smile: ), and I’m currently in my mid-twenties so I may not be the ideal candidate.

Would love to hear everyone’s thoughts/experience with MD/Phd dual degree programs, because I really don’t know much about it. Thanks! :slight_smile:

Unless you really want to do bench research and/or maybe in-the-weeds translational type medicine, you really only need an MD. You can still do research as an MD if that’s your thing. I only know from speaking with a friend of mine who is md/phd, but they seem to really like folks who are already pretty experienced in the realm of research. There are very few positions nationally, making them a pretty competitive thing (especially since most/all cover the cost of med school). By all means apply if that’s what you want. The worst thing they can do is say no and you get into a standard MD/DO program.

@Kennymac wrote:

but they seem to really like folks who are already pretty experienced in the realm of research. There are very few positions nationally, making them a pretty competitive thing (especially since most/all cover the cost of med school).