Medical Experience

I was wondering if anybody has information on the kind of experience that medical schools are looking for. I worked as a Systems Administrator at a University Hospital and my work often involved working in treatment areas between Students, Patients, and Professors. I wore the traditional white coat that all hospital personnel had to wear and often patients asked me “Doctor, …” to which I replied, “I am not a doctor, but I can point you to the person that can help you…”. One could argue that that was in the furthest sense direct patient experience. How specific does the experience that medical schools are looking for have to be? There is also a mental health hospital down the block from me and I was thinking about volunteering there, although my interest is more towards science/research/toxicolo gy as well as general medicine. However, they do also have youth drug rehab and I was thinking I could somehow make the argument in my medical school application that this type of volunteer experience is toxicology related. In general, I just find it very hard to find volunteer possibilities that are somewhat local and do not require any kind of certification. In trying to avoid wasting time on dead end volunteer possibilities, I would appreciate helpful inputs.

B.S. Environmental Management (2011)

Post-Baccalaureate Pre-Medical (current)

Some hospitals have “scribes” in the ER which is a volunteer who takes down pt. information while the patient is waiting to be seen. That helps the hospital to give care more efficiently, helps the patient get seen sooner (ideally), and would be good pt. contact -type experience.

I’d suggest picking an opportunity that you feel excited about - if you did it just to clock the hours, that is going to come across in an admissions interview. In that sense, Habitat for Humanity might be a good volunteer experience.

Kate

Thank you Kate. I appreciate your helpful input!