Medical Field Experience Advice

Hello all,

I have been thinking very seriously about returning to medical school and really love this site. It is incredibly inspiring to see so many non-trads returning to medical school with such enthusiasm and optimism! I have been so inspired by everyone’s story and unique journey. Thanks to all of you for your posts!

I have noticed that many of you have medical backgrounds. I was a chemist for 9 years and a CPA for the past 10 years. Since I don’t have a medical background, I really feel that it’s important for me to get some clinical experience before I go through with the application process. I won’t be applying for four years, so I feel like I have some time to try and find a meaningful clinical experience. Currently, I have been volunteering as a patient assistant at our local hospital for the past four months.

Should I continue as a patient volunteer? Should I get a part-time job in the hospital lab? Should I train to become an EMT? Does anyone have any suggestions for me? I feel like my application will be weakened with my lack of experience in the medical field and I really want to find the right way to round out that experience.

I would appreciate any thoughts and suggestions.

Thanks!!!

Hello and welcome to the site! When you’re thinking about extracurricular experiences, the best ones you can do are the ones that you enjoy. It’s more important to talk about your experience with enthusiasm. Any of the things you listed would be good on a resume, so by choosing any of those you won’t make your application weak. The thing is to pick one and stick with it. You have plenty of time, you can do a lot in four years. I would keep a log/diary just for your use. You can jot down things you see and how you felt about it. Come interview time it’s important to be able to articulate not just what you have done and seen, but how those things affected and/or changed you.