Music to Medicine

Hello!

I am so excited and grateful that OPM.org exists! I’ve learned a lot here already, but I have a few questions that I haven’t found answers to so… here we go.

First, a little background info- I graduated cum laude in 2005 from the University of Utah with a B.Mus., emphasizing in Piano Performance. Since then I’ve gotten married, worked as an administrative assistant and a library assistant at Harvard, lived and worked as an ESL teacher in Kazakhstan and had a baby daughter. Throughout all of this I’ve continued to think about being a doctor; it was always my plan when I was a child but I lost my momentum somewhere along the way (maybe while trudging through uninspiring science classes in high school).

In the past few months I’ve decided that obtaining an M.D. is my goal and I want medicine to be my life. I know that I’m a hard worker and can do whatever I push myself to do, but since I had no science classes in my undergrad (though I did have 2 semesters of calc for non-science majors) and no directly related work experience, I realize that it’s going to be a long and difficult process.

Wow, that was long. Anyway, here are my questions:

-Will admissions committees look down on my having a Bachelor of Music rather than a B.S. or B.A.?

-Thanks to my husband’s job, I may have to move while I’m in the process of taking my prereqs. Will having multiple universities reflected on my transcript reflect badly on my application to med school?

-I plan to volunteer at a hospital while I’m working on my prereqs, but I want to make sure I’m spending my time wisely. In other words, if volunteer experience means sitting behind a desk and never talking to anyone (which is what I did in high school) I’d rather spend my time studying or raising my daughter. Is volunteering really worth it, or would it be better for me to take the time to get CNA or PCT certification and work?