My introduction

Hi, everyone. I’m so glad I found this site! SDN is also very nice, but the non-trad forum has quite a range there.

Anyway, I graduated from Knox College in 1997 (technically, I was in the 1996 class, but since I studied in Japan my senior year, my transcripts got delayed). I had started out in their accelerated pre med program, but my high school (same as Meg here…Sandwich) was sort of a joke when I was there and I was a bit unprepared and partied too much. At least I don’t have to retake too many prereqs again. Anyway, my advisor was bad and just told me to quit, so I ended up in History and Japanese (I liked -studying- history, and am good at learning languages) and spent a year in Japan my senior year, and have been there a few times since.

I’ll cut out the mid years now. Anyway, medicine is one of those things I keep cycling back to every year or so… I am in IT now, and it pays really well and has been stable (in a health care company, too), but it isn’t a job that I love, among other things. So, this leads me to my current situation.

I’m engaged currently and at the same time I’ve decided to go back to retake my prereqs, bring up my college GPA, and then apply to medical school. So I have my 1st class since college again this summer at NWU and will try to get in their post-bac program (possibly). My fiance is British and I might be going there instead, but it depends on a few things and I won’t know for a couple of months. If that ends up being the case I’ll be doing some A levels in Britain while I wait to get residency status and apply to British schools.

Ok, enough of me typing. Nice to meet you all! Thanks for reading all my exposition!

Hey Cass! Welcome to OPM! So you’re a Sandwich native… I live here but am originally from Southern Illinois. There are a few from the Chicagoland area - someday we’ll all have to get together!

Quote: