My nontrad path to medical school

Hi everyone,

I have been following this forum and religiously listening to the podcast for quite some time now so I thought I’d try and get some direct advice.

I came to America for college (originally from Romania) on a student visa in order to pursue medicine. I majored in neuroscience and as a naive first year who just got thrown into the american college system I had no idea that it is harder for international students to get into medical school. A premed advisor quickly let me know that there is no way I will ever get accepted to med school and I should change careers. I was devastated at the time but luckily because I had already started doing research in a lab and found it fascinating I decided to pursue a phd instead. I graduated in august 2015 and have been working as a research assistant in a lab ever since. However, I have never quite gotten over the desire to pursue medicine and am even entertaining the idea of becoming a physician scientist. Because I am now older and wiser(hopefully) and after listening to the premed years and the oldpremeds podcast I decided to just go ahead and pursue my dream of becoming a physician.

During my undergrad years I prioritized working in the lab 8-10 hours a day instead of taking care of my grades and so I ended up with a 3.1 cumulative and 3.2 science gpa. I have been looking at SMP programs as well as postbac programs and I am not sure which would be better for me. Which one would help me the most for my situation? SMP sounds more interesting, but I am not sure if I would be able to get into a competitive SMP program with my grades.