My Story

As I was importing all my old messages onto my new computer, I came across this post describing the rather odd way that I finally got around to applying to medical school. I really found similar stories of other OPMs helpful when I was going through the application process.

All those out there applying to, currently in, or graduated from medical school… post your stories as well. Maybe someone will find them helpful. At the least, we’ll have the pleasure of reading about ourselves on the internet. :)

From the OPM list, March 11, 2001:

OK, here goes. I’m 33 and married with 2 kids (3.5 years and 6 months old). I graduated (barely…2.37 GPA) from Texas A&M in 1990 with a BS in psychology. I went to paramedic school at Houston Community College concurrently with A&M and graduated with a paramedic certificate in 1988. I then worked as a paramedic to pay for my last two years of undergrad.

After graduating, I got married and moved to New York for graduate school. While there, I worked as a paramedic in Yonkers, NY and then in Greenwich, CT and Danbury, CT. After taking courses as quickly as I could, I graduated with an MS in EMS from New York Medical College in 1992. We then promptly moved back to Texas.