Navy scholarship

I was just wondering if anyone else around here had applied for/accepted one of the military scholarships. A couple years ago I contacted the Navy because I was interested in their program. Boy do they know how to keep in touch. They have tracked my phone number through two moves and a housesitting gig. I actually appreciate their persistence, and because of that I am still planning to apply and am really quite interested. Of course there is no telling whether I will get offered a scholarship or not, but anyway I thought I’d ask around.
As a medical school applicant I am pretty non-traditional. As a NAVY RECRUIT??? I have no experience whatsover with any branch of the military. I wonder if anyone here with military background or who has applied for one of these scholarships could share some of their experience? I don’t even know what questions I should be asking, aside from the factual ones about the scholarship. I know this request is vague, but I’ll be interested in anything people have to say, and if anyone’s interested in the topic, I’m sure I’ll have more specific questions later too.
Thanks!

I always give this advice to anyone considering the military route (having served in the Army and married to a soldier I can offer my insight) if you are joing do it because you want to serve your country. Never consider this route for the scholarship and less debt because it may bite you in the arse. Remember first and foremost you will be a soldier/sailor/marine/airman then you are a physician. The needs of the military will always COME first period. So if you truly want to join to serve it is an excellent option with great training but remember you will be deployed, you may end up in Iraq, you may get shot at, and you may die serving.