Nearly 40 and wanting to go to Med school - specific advice?

Are there any schools that prefer mature students?

I got my undergrad and grad degrees in science, and my university (in Canada) did not like giving out great grades. I maybe have a 3.5 GPA? When I took the MCAT a lifetime ago I did great, but I know things have changed (how the MCAT is taken).

I’m also very frightened of this not being the right choice. Of getting depressed being around all the silly 20 somethings.

Please help!

Welcome!

The “silly 20 somethings” that are true pre-meds are far from silly. They are astute young people with an amazing ability to interact with everyone. My classes are filled with that age group - mostly, they are well behaved and the few that are not, get told by the ones who are to be quiet

Not too old. If you want to go to US med school, find AMCAS website and begin researching what/how your grades will be reviewed.

If you are thinking Canadian… I don’t know where to point you. Thankfully, there a gobs of people on this forum to help!!

Good luck to you!

You’re likely to hear this from anyone: Give yourself enough time from when you decide. For you, you’re probably looking at from 2012 to 2014 start. The 2011 applicants are studying for the MCAT right now and have everything else already more or less ironed out.

(1) Call a few schools and ask their admissions departments if your prerequisites are valid – time and non-US might be a factor. Find this out early. This will impact your timeline significantly.