Need a Heart to Heart / Advice

All,

I am in desperate need of advice about whether or not the proceed with a post bac program. A little bit of background, I am a 27 year old female and I’m approaching four years at a top consulting firm. I come from a medical-oriented family where my father and brother are ED doctors, mother was a nurse, and sister-in-law is a PA. I entered college as a pre-med major, but after a fatal car accident that took my mother’s life, I decided to pursue her dream for me to become involved in international/government work, and pursued international business/finance and earned my MBA. (It’s important to note I graduated with a 3.9 GPA, my standardized test taking skills have not been the best).

Basically, although I’m succeeding and receiving high rating at my job, I find myself questioning my current business path, as I cannot see myself pursuing the partner track any longer, and cannot stand sitting behind a desk and developing macros. Since my start in 2008, I’ve applied to programs, and got into UVA and Penn State post bac programs. Unfortunately, I deferred and eventually declined UVA in 2010. After declining, I kept thinking about this decision and reapplied, to Penn State. Now I’m faced with the decision to leave my job in a month, or continue on.

My brother, who also, switched jobs from a pilot to a doctor, and is now in his second year residency, does not support my decision to pursue medicine because he claims I will put my whole life on hold, and your career is NOT your identity. I see this aspect especially since I’m a single 27 year old, and definitely want to have kids/family sometime in my life. My father on the other hand, whohas 25+ years experience supports this decision and claims he will help me any way possible. Basically, I realize this is my decision, but I wanted to reach out to this forum to gather a non-bias view outside my family. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks again!