Need advice

Hi,

I’m new to OPM’s, just found this site while I was looking around (awesome by the way). Anyway, I figured this would be the perfect place to put my resume/stats etc. out there, and see if I really have a shot at getting into medical school. I’ll I’ve heard recently have been horror stories about people with 4.0’s not getting in, so I figured I better be realistic about my situation.

Anyway, on to the nitty gritty. I graduated from college a few years ago with a degree in English Literature. I was originally Molecular Biology but I did terribly in my classes (c’s and d’s). I did well in English (even ended up winning an undergradute thesis award) but obviously my grades left a lot to be desired in my science classes. I was a division 1 athlete in school and I’m sad to say this, but at the time that was all I really cared about. Since graduating I have worked in consulting for a few years and even got the chance to live and work in Africa for year doing non-profit consulting - which was AMAZING. It was there that I got interested in public health/medicine and decided to go back to school. I put together my own ad-hoc pre-med program and have been taking classes as a non-matriculated student at the University of Washington. I was only able to take (usually) 1 class per quarter because I still work a 50 hour a week job and didn’t want to take night classes at community college. Thankfully I’m almost done with my classes. I did much better this time around, and in a much more challenging academic environment than my undergraduate days. I have one quarter of o-chem left but my cumulative GPA for my other science classes at the University of Washington is a 3.65, with an undergraduate GPA of 3.0. I took the MCAT this summer and got a 37. I’ve shadowed a few doctors but not for an extended period of time, I also don’t have any research experience.